#ShortShortStories

a cure for the common block

Can I Get A Witness?

Ell had the family nose for trouble, and while I learned and used my inheritance to seek truth and set things right, she fell for a series of jakes who used her and abused her, and while Phillip wasn’t the worst of the notorious nine, his ties to Oliver Metulsky set him apart from the rest. I read her face like a poorly scripted horoscope and knew that if Oliver’s henches didn’t catch up to me, my best hope was a feeble restart in Tulsa, which seemed like an even-split prospect at the time. I revisited the scene and stared into the pool, trying to cast new eyes, when a low-flying plane broke my concentration; the freezer burst open, I just needed to find the right set of keys.

#ShortShortStories #CanIGetAWitness?

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Can I Get A Witness?

  1. Moody Paper on said:

    They’d never think to look in the freezer! Love this one.

Leave a Reply

